Show 023 – Machinedrum

You want ‘electronic’ music? You got it. Machinedrum is our feature musician this week. We delve into his most recent album ‘Vapor City’, as well as, explore the jungle inspiration of his music with a rare withdrawal from Jesse Robinson’s vinyl vault. Throw in some Mizell Brothers, a little Brazilian music, a new track from Caribou and a KILLER track from Dorian Concept and you got this week’s music gumbo. Based on the Beat style. Bon Appétit!

Show 023 – Machinedrum by Based On The Beat on Mixcloud

Track List:
See below for iTune links (note they are affiliate links). Free downloads and tracks that aren’t on iTune’s radar are given below. Woo Hoo!
  1. J-Louis – Can’t You See (FREE Download)
  2. The Weeknd – What You Need
  3. Machinedrum – Center Your Love
  4. Johnny Hammond – Tell Me What To Do (Whiskey Barons Rework) (FREE Download)
  5. Missy Elliott – Lose Control (Machinedrum Remix) (FREE Download)
  6. PFM – Dreams
  7. Machinedrum – Gunshotta
  8. Sonzeira – Xibaba (She-ba-ba)
  9. Machinedrum – SeeSea
  10. Dorian Concept – Trilingual Dance Sexeperience (Oris Debris Relick)
  11. Caribou – Our Love

Show Notes:

Here a link to an album you NEED in your life! Every household should have one (Note: Affiliate link).

Watch Machinedrum in action.

Show 022 – FaltyDL

FaltyDL dropped a new album and we couldn’t be happier to feature his music this week. As well as, new tracks from Amp Live, Floating Points and Caribou. We squeeze in some reggae (and an awesome remake of a classic) and some Afro Beat. Lock in for an hour of interesting, brain stem massaging music by Jesse Robinson.

Show 022 – FaltyDL by Based On The Beat on Mixcloud

Track Listing:
  1. Hello Skinny – Crush
  2. Falty DL – Greater Antilles Part 1
  3. Luke Vibert – Music Called Jazz (Sorry guys, no download)
  4. Jaco Pastorius – Portrait of Tracy
  5. THUNDERCAT – For Love I Come
  6. Amp Live – Hustle 360 (feat. Povi Tamu)
  7. Falty DL – Dånger
  8. Congo Natty – Get Ready
  9. Dawn Penn – You Don’t Love Me (No, No, No)
  10. Boogaloo Assassins – No No No
  11. Tony Allen – Asiko
  12. Falty DL – Heart & Soul
  13. Floating Points – Sparkling Controversy
  14. Caribou – Can’t Do Without You (Extended Mix)

Show 021 – Taylor McFerrin

This week Jesse Robinson focuses on the music of Taylor McFerrin and plays tracks off the new album “Early Riser”. Also in the mix is new music from Shabazz Palaces, Lil Silva, Falty DL and Caribou to name a few. We focus on the spaces in between Electronica, Jazz, Hip-Hop, World and Dance. Come and listen along.

Show 021 – Taylor McFerrin by Based On The Beat on Mixcloud

Track Listing:
  1. Taylor McFerrin – Stepps
  2. Lil Silva – Mabel
  3. FaltyDL – Some Jazz Shit
  4. Taylor McFerrin – Already There (feat. Robert Glasper & Thundercat)
  5. Shabazz Palaces – Forerunner Foray
  6. Shabazz Palaces – Motion Sickness
  7. JWhy – Writing Time *FREE Download*
  8. Barrington Levy – Stray Away Girl
  9. Taylor McFerrin – Florasia
  10. Caribou – Can’t Do Without You
  11. Floating Points – King Bromeliad
  12. Anushka – Mansions (Ossie Remix)
  13. Clap! Clap! – Please Mother Rain Wash Our Souls From Human Evil

Show Notes:

Here’s a great photo of rapper Ishmael Butler of Shabazz Palaces as mention during the show. Just your average ‘taking the snakes out for a walk to the swapmeet’ kinda day.

Shabazz Palaces’ Ishmael Butler, aka Palaceer Lazaro (formerly Butterfly of jazz–hip hop group Digable Planets)

Listen to a new track from the forthcoming Clap! Clap! album named ‘Tayi Bebba’ Available September 8th.

This is the Barrington Levy’s double album that I mentioned during the show. It’s pretty much all you need to get all the Levy that’s fit for listening. Put it on and you’ll have hours of great Reggae. Unfortunately you can’t download, it’s only available on CD or vinyl (NOTE: Affiliate link).

Hope you enjoyed the show and have a week filled with good music!

Show 020 – Lucas Santtana

Experts agree that ‘good music’ can have a big impact on your health. In this show Jesse Robinson gives you plenty of good music from the 5 major food groups: Electronica, Jazz, Hip-Hop, World, Dance and all the weird places in between. This week we focus on the music of Brazilian artist Lucas Santtana. New music from Taylor McFerrin and Lost Midas. Some classic tracks from Ramp and Lewis Taylor, as well as killer dance tracks from Dave Aju and Ossie! This is an hour you don’t want to miss!

Show 020 by Based On The Beat on Mixcloud


Track Listing:
  1. Lost Midas – Dream Of Me
  2. B.J. Smith – Hey Ya!
  3. Taylor McFerrin – Invisible/Visible (feat. Bobby McFerrin & Cesar Camargo Mariano)
  4. Ramp – Daylight
  5. Lewis Taylor – Bittersweet (Mr Leigh’s A Dash Of Sugar Edit) FREE Download
  6. J-Louis – LA Watts FREE Download
  7. Sango – Três Horas Name Your Price
  8. AbJo – OFD (One For Dilla) FREE Download
  9. Lucas Santtana – Vamos Andar Pela Cidade
  10. Lucas Santtana – O Deus Que Devasta Mas Também Cura
  11. Lucas Santtana – Dia de Furar Onda no Mar
  12. Gold Panda – Trust
  13. Dave Aju – Nobody Knows
  14. Ossie – Peace & Love FREE Download