Show 010 – Memorial Day Mix

Jesse Robinson serves up a platter of musical treats to enjoy this Memorial Day weekend.

Show 010 – Memorial Day Mix by Based On The Beat on Mixcloud

 Track Listing:
  1. The Jones Girls – Nights Over Egypt
  2. Lion Babe – Treat Me Like Fire
  3. Taso – DJ Rashad x Dj Spinn x Taso Cream VIP
  4. Anushka – Broken Circuit
  5. Little Dragon – Klapp Klapp
  6. Nick Mulvey – The Trellis
  7. Roseaux – Missing You (feat. Aloe Blacc)
  8. Fatima – La Neta
  9. Roberto Roena – Shade of Time
  10. Bobby Valentin – Coco Seco
  11. Mo Kolours – Mike Black
  12. Shafiq Husayn – Love Still Hurts
  13. Fatima – Technology
  14. Flume – What You Need

Show 009 – Spiritual Jazz

Show 009 – Spiritual Jazz by Based On The Beat on Mixcloud

 Show Notes

Are you getting more of an interest in Jazz, but don’t know where to start? Why not with Spiritual Jazz? Don’t know what ‘Spiritual Jazz’ is, well then listen to the show and find out! This week Jesse Robinson takes us on a spiritual jazz journey. The first half of the show he focuses on a short lived but influential record label from the 70’s called Black Jazz Records as well as a few tracks from the equally amazing UK record label Jazzman Records. Then there are tracks from new and up in coming artists working in the same vein. You’re going to want to grab a drink for this one. Sit back and enjoy the ride.

Checkout the Based on the Beat Store to purchase music you heard on any of our shows! Click here to BUY music from this show.

Every household should own this album. Highly recommended!

Many say John Coltrane – A Love Supreme is the album that started Spiritual Jazz.

Track Listing

Doug Carn – Welcome
The Awakening – Awakening Prologue: Spring Thing
Doug Carn – Little B’s Poem
Gene Russell – Black Orchid
Kellee Patterson – Maiden Voyage
Rudolph Johnson – The Highest Pleasure
Mor Thiam – Ayo Ayo Nene
Albert Mangelsdorf Quintet – Varie
Billy Gault – Mode For Trane
Raynald Colom – El’Baka
Takuya Kuroda – Call
Elan Mehler – Scheme for Thought

Click here to BUY music from this show.

Show 008 – the 80s!

Show 008 – The 80s by Based On The Beat on Mixcloud

Come on a musical journey back in time to the 1980’s, Based on the Beat style. It’s an all vinyl show! Jesse Robinson digs back into his record collection to unearth some little ’80s gems. No Duran Duran or New Order here, but you knew that all ready.

Checkout the Based on the Beat Store to purchase music you heard on any of our shows! Click here to BUY music from this show.

This is the track that inspired the show!

  1. The Style Council – Long Hot Summer (1983)
  2. Sade – Make Some Room (1988)
  3. Quando Quando – Atom Rock New York Remix by Mark Kamins (1985)
  4. Blancmange – Game Above My Head (1984)
  5. Heaven 17 – Let Me Go! (1982)
  6. Matt Bianco – Half A Minute (1984)
  7. Fun Boy Three – Our Lips Are Sealed, Special Remix Version (1983)
  8. ABC – Poison Arrow (1982)
  9. Cabaret Voltaire – Sensoria (1984)
  10. Torch Song – Don’t Look Now (1984)
  11. Tones On Tail – Lions (1984)
  12. Heaven 17 – And That’s No Lie (1984)

Click here to BUY music from this show.

Show 007 – 3 Bands

Show 007 – 3 Bands by Based On The Beat on Mixcloud


We all have our “go to music” and it is no different in the Robinson household. This week Jesse Robinson highlights 3 bands that are must haves in your music collection. This music works great for when you don’t know what to play and the crowd is as diverse as grandparents to teenage kids. All households should own. Enjoy.

Show Notes:

Jesse with Hiatus Kiayote (Why didn't they make a funny face?)
Jesse with Hiatus Kiayote (Why didn’t they make a funny face?)
CD signed by Hiatus Kaiyote!
CD signed by Hiatus Kaiyote!
Jesse with Nai Palm of Hiatus Kaiyote
Jesse with Nai Palm of Hiatus Kaiyote
Metronomy signed LP (why didn't I get a picture with the band?)
Metronomy signed LP (why didn’t I get a picture with the band?)

The Robinson's with Jose James
The Robinson’s with Jose James


  1. Hiatus Kaiyote – Rainbow Rhodes
  2. Hiatus Kaiyote – Nakamarra
  3. Hiatus Kaiyote – Mobius Streak
  4. Hiatus Kaiyote – The World It Softly Lulls
  5. Hiatus Kaiyote – Lace Skull
  6. Hiatus Kaiyote – Sphynx Gate
  7. Hiatus Kaiyote – Boom Child
  8. Metronomy – She Wants
  9. Metronomy – The Look
  10. Metronomy – Corinne
  11. Metronomy – Some Written
  12. Metronomy – Everything Goes My Way
  13. Metronomy – I’m Aquarius
  14. Metronomy – Reservoir
  15. Metronomy – Love Letters
  16. Metronomy – My heart rate rapid
  17. José James – Winter Wind
  18. José James – Love
  19. José James – Love Conversation
  20. José James – Warrior
  21. José James – Trouble
  22. José James – It’s All Over Your Body
  23. José James – Vanguard
  24. José James – EveryLittleThing [Explicit]